To be included in the World Heritage list , sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet at least one of the ten selection criteria. These criteria are explained in the Operational Guidelines for the Implementation of World Heritage Convention which besides the text of the convention is the main working tool of world Heritage. The criteria are regularly revised by the committee to reflect the evolution of the world Heritage concept itself. Learn more through Donations to help preserve sites can also be made through the web site.

Until the end of 2004, world Heritage sites were selected on the basis of six cultural and four natural criteria, however with the adoption of the revised operational guidelines for the implementation of the World Heritage convention, only one set of ten criteria exists.

Sri Lanka is blessed with no less than seven World Heritage sites and with any average round trip you are sure to see at least two of these sites. Look at our list of Itineraries and you will find tours that cover all seven sites, a rare opportunity in any holiday destination

Ancient city of Polonnaruwa 10AD – (1982)

Sigiriya Rock Fortress 5AD – (1982 )

Sacred city of Anuradhapura 5BC – (1982)

Old town of Galle and it’s fortifications 17AD– (1988)

Sacred city of Kandy 15AD – (1988)

Sinharaja Forest reserve – (1988)

Golden temple of Dambulla 1BC – (1991)